State AbbreviationIA
StatehoodDecember 28, 1846
State CapitalDes Moines
Number of Counties99
State Population (2010)3,046,355
Electoral Votes6
State Quarter Issue Date30-Aug-04
State MottoOur liberties we prize and our rights we will maintain
State FlowerWild rose
State BirdEastern Goldfinch
NicknameHawkeye State
Area Codes319, 515, 563, 641, 712
Top 5 Cities (2010 population)Des Moines (203,433)
Cedar Rapids (126,326)
Davenport (99,685)
Sioux City (82,684)
Waterloo (68,406)
Major Sports TeamsNone
Federal PrisonsNone
Federal Correctional InstitutionsNone
State PrisonsAnamosa State Penitentiary – Anamosa
Clarinda Correctional Facility – Clarinda
Fort Dodge Correctional Facility – Fort Dodge
Iowa Correctional Institution for Women – Mitchellville
Iowa Medical and Classification Center – Oakdale
Iowa State Penitentiary – Fort Madison
Mount Pleasant Correctional Facility – Mount Pleasant
Newton Correctional Facility – unincorporated Jasper County, near Newton
North Central Correctional Facility – Rockwell City

Inmate Locator

Students and Faculty

Government Employees

Court Cases

no links in this area

Attorneys and Legal Counsel

Organization Members


Driving Records